we meet.

Six weeks and a day ago, at 10:14 in the morning, I was still asleep. It was a Monday.

We had left for the hospital the night before, when the contractions were five minutes apart. We had been watching a football game on television – Minnesota (where your dad is from) vs. New Orleans – and we listened to the radio broadcast on the drive to Modesto. When we got there, the game had just gone into overtime. It was ten hours later when a nurse told us the final score, and we were still waiting for you.

After a few more hours, we decided on a c-section. Something did not go as expected. General anesthesia was needed. Someone said, “OK, you’re going to go to sleep now.”

I did.

I woke up in a fog. I heard you before I saw you, before I could really see anything clearly, before I could even breathe.

Someone else  said, “It’s all done. You have a baby girl,” and it didn’t make sense. It seemed like it had been just seconds.

But I could hear you. (Before I could see you). You were crying.

It sliced through the haze.

And that will be your voice: strong and clear and irrepressible. I will listen for it always.

(Before it happened, I didn’t think I had expectations about how you would be born. But I guess I did.

I expected there would be that moment when the doctor holds up a squirming bluish body, tells you she’s yours and you fall in love. I didn’t expect to miss the first 45 minutes of your life. And it hurt that I did.

And yet those 45 minutes, that once were your whole life, are now just a fraction of it. A fraction that keeps getting smaller. Every day and every moment.)

After a while, I could see David across the recovery room with you in his arms.

You’re there again now, dancing in the dark to “Cecilia” – I swear it chills you out –  for the eleventh time at least today.

You’re breaking my heart, you’re shaking my confidence daily.

25 January 2010

8 thoughts on “we meet.

  1. I had a c-section under general as well and while it will always bug me a tiny bit that I missed those first moments, I love the way you describe it here as a fraction of a life. Thanks for this post!

  2. My husband didn’t get to see my son until after I was awake and being wheeled into recovery – they wouldn’t let him into the OR, so it is great that your husband got that time with the baby! It does get better , I defintely went through stages about the whole thing. Now I just know what I would do differently if I had to go through it again.

  3. Pingback: lookalike « mi mamá me mima

  4. Pingback: fathers day | mi mamá me mima

Leave a Reply

