threeoh

We met when we were 18.

Barely adults. And now there’s basically no denying it. Happy birthday to David. It’s early yet, but I feel like this year could be a good one.

Thanks to the Betty’s Pies cook book, I can bake a reasonably decent chocolate-chip cookie. Good enough to give to friends and neighbors sort of thing. However, for a long time, I’ve wanted to be good at cupcakes. Cupcakes seem birthdayish, and now that household birthdays have increased by 50 percent (Is that right? I think that’s right.) around here, it could be a good time to figure it out.

But I am terrible at cupcakes.

I recently made a practice batch for David’s birthday, an experience to be indexed under “Knew better but did anyway.”

The recipe called for self-rising flour. I used a mix of all-purpose and cake flours. Is that optimism or obstinance? In any case, and quite surprisingly, the cupcakes did not rise. They were these horrible leaden little things, not even worth icing.

duh.

However, I have since tried out a chocolate recipe and had much better results. Watch out.

3 thoughts on “threeoh

  1. Happy Belated Birthday, David!
    How I wish I was three oh again…well maybe four oh…or maybe five oh. Yeah, 50 was a very good year. 30 was a lot of work but so worth it!
    Congrats, and I’d be more than happy to share my secret cupcake recipe with Jenni. (Go to a cake decorating shop where they may have pre-made batter and frosting from heaven!!!
    Love ya guys.

  2. Pingback: summer jam « mi mamá me mima

Leave a Reply

