sucks

The nurse who got us ready to leave the hospital sent Alice home with a pacifier.

She liked it OK, and we used it for, I don’t know, a week or two until we realized the white noise and running water and bouncing calmed her more consistently.

Then, one afternoon when those weren’t working either, I pulled a new chupy out of a drawer where I had also been keeping hats and socks that were too big. I didn’t really have any expectations here. It was a desperation move.

But she took it. She liked it. She was asleep within 10 minutes.

It helps her get to sleep if she’s close and sustains sleep if she stirs too early from a nap.

Except she’ll only take that one chupy, and I have no idea where it came from. It has no brand name. Its only distinguishing feature is that it says “Snooze Button.”

About every other time I go to a grocery store, I buy a new one, hoping.

But she finds a new chupy distateful. She spits it out, or she rolls her tongue around it as though unsure what I expect her to do.

And then she spits it out.

Rejected. (Not even all of them)

Fine.

But here’s the trouble: Next week she’s going to have to go to day care (sad!).  Do I send the only chupy worth sucking with her? Knowing it will be lost? Knowing it is irreplaceable?

I guess, huh?

4 thoughts on “sucks

  1. Pingback: clockwatching « mi mamá me mima

Leave a Reply

