playing nicely

The other day at Gymboree, a little girl grabbed Alice’s blanket and snatched it away from her.

And then,  a few days later, when I picked her up at day care, I found her sitting on one of the caregiver’s laps, being rocked. There were big, sad tears pooling around her eyelashes.

“Oh, no,” I said.

“She got bonked,” the caregiver said.

“One of the toddlers dropped a toy on her.”

(The toddlers, by the way, are like day care gremlins. I don’t see them too often, but they get blamed for a lot of naughty things. Like making the infant swings rock really, really fast. And bonking my baby on the head.)

Seriously, you guys, you’d better watch out. She’s small now, but I bet she has a long memory.

A real bruiser, right? That scratch on her nose was self-inflicted. (Who is your mother? Doesn't she clip your fingernails?)

Nah, I’m just kidding. She’s a lover. You can share her blanket.

Leave a Reply

