out the window

She sleeps in her crib until about 5 a.m., when she wakes up crying to come sleep with us for another couple of hours.

The arrangement has its drawbacks, but like I said, I try to take the long view when it comes to this sort of thing.

And if I sometimes wake up to a pudgy little finger in my nose or to a pillow drenched in her baby sweat, I also get to wake up to her – all wild-haired and sleepy-breathed – crawling over me to pull back the shade and stare out the bedroom window.

It is what she does now. First thing, every day.

It is also where we go when it’s getting dark and getting to be time to wind down.

That’s a happy kiddo, huh? I think we might be on to something.

Leave a Reply

