right behind you

When you used to think about What It Would Be Like, this is pretty much what you had in mind, right?

She is my shadow these days. She is my baby duck. Where I go, she goes. Clomping after me in ballet flats already worn ragged.

Oh, I could tell you it’s exhausting. I could tell about the streaks of eyeliner on her arms and the lipstick on her cheeks. I could make confessions about how rarely I am able to shower.

I guess.

But whatever.

I mean, honestly?

She is my sunshine.

You can ease her onto her mattress when you think she is asleep, when her breathing is slow and even.

You can back away slowly, avoiding the creaks.

But when you leave the room, she will sense a change in atmosphere.

(How?)

She’ll cry: Stay.

Leave a Reply

