hey, look

Today was picture day at Alice’s day care. Her note home said, “Today was picture day. Alice did not cry.”

Doesn’t that seem a little funny? Doesn’t that seem like something you might be pleased to hear after “Today was booster-shot day.”

Of course, I am glad she did not cry. I am sure she sat for a lovely photo. Last year, I blew it and completely forgot about picture day, which I can only chalk up to first-year fluster. I know it’s not a big deal. Lord knows the child’s life is well-documented. But it matters to me to remember.

(Secret: I bought this dress especially for picture day. And sadly, although darling, I don’t think I’ll pull it out again. Getting it off was such an ordeal that Alice applauded when it was over. No joke. Oh, Baby Gap – one more button would have been heaven. The pink flower is a repurposed hair bow from Tía Debbie. Alice loves it.)

Leave a Reply

