sleepwalk

A few times a week at least, around 3 or so in the morning, Alice wakes up and gets out of bed and comes looking for me.

I’m a pretty light sleeper. I hear her before she gets very far.

Still, it always startles me to find her stumbling, half-blind, down the hallway. Not where I left her.

“Mama? Hold you?”

We meet in the middle. I bring her back to bed. And she sleeps soundly for a few more hours.

This morning, I asked whether something scares her at night.

Yes, she said. Dinosaurs.

“Dinosaurs try to scare me.”

“Dinosaurs scare you?”

“Yes. Dinosaurs scare me.”

“Wow. Yeah. I can see that. How come they scare you? Is it because they’re big? Or because they’re loud? Or because they eat little girls?”

“Really loud. Raaawr! Try to scare me.”

Leave a Reply

