princess, cont’d

If you’re gonna go in for the princess thing, you might as well go all in.

When she said she wanted to be a pink princess for Halloween, I said, “OK. I think I can make you a pink princess dress.”

And she said, “No. Buy one at the store.”

Crushing! (And sort of confounding. How does she know the difference?) But I decided to make one anyway, and while I was cutting out pattern pieces last weekend, I stopped to tie a scrap piece of fabric over her shoulders.

“A cape,” I told her.

She was thrilled. She wore it all morning. I could have stopped there.

The finished dress isn’t the best, but when she tried it on for the first time, she twirled in front of the mirror and said, “Oh, I’m Cinderella!” Wonderstruck, sort of, that this costume had materialized and she was wearing it.

“Call me Princess Alice, OK?”

It is so, so good to make her happy.

Before trick-or-treating with Paula (also a princess) this evening, Alice and I carved a jack-o-latern at the kitchen table.

(We had gone to the pumpkin patch a couple of weekends ago, when my parents were in town.)

She told me from the get-go, “I don’t want goopy-goop on my hands.” She has a thing about sticky hands. True story: We went to a baby shower recently where there were Rice Krispies treats. I gave one to Alice, and she kept dropping it. Like, over and over. I couldn’t figure out what was going on with her. And then I realized – she didn’t want to touch it.

Anyway, I don’t particularly like goopy-goop on my hands either, but that’s just the way it goes sometimes.

So, I dug in, and after a while, she came around.

One thought on “princess, cont’d

  1. Michael and I placed our chairs on the lawn last night and passed out candy…what a nice night it was with a bright moon shining and crisp weather slightly chilling us. Every little princess that came by reminded me of Alice. It was a good call on her part to go with the “princess” motif, since I didn’t see any race cars :) However, she could’ve been a ghost, ghoblin, or super hero :) Thanks for sharing about her princess story. It reminded me of the six months that Maria was in the “Barbie” phase. We were so excited that we bought her all kinds of Barbie items such as a swimming pool that was later used for frogs she caught at Uncle Leo’s house and transported to our house :) And I can only imagine what she did with the Barbie car…probably her weiner dog was squished into the driver’s seat???
    By the way, Alice is the prettiest princess and fairest of them all…and yes, I’m partial!

Leave a Reply

