sister

We took Alice to my ultrasound appointment a couple of Fridays ago – it was the one that comes at the halfway mark, when you really get a good look.

We weren’t sure how she would react. “Look!” I pointed. “She’s waving to you! Do you see her hand? Her foot?”  In the end, Alice seemed interested, but unimpressed. When we were finished, the sonographer gave her a Cinderella sticker and her very own printout of a hazy image of her sister.

Later that day, she picked up that picture and asked me, “It’s a baby alligator, right?”

It’s hard to know how much she really understands.

One afternoon, when I picked her up from preschool, her teacher told me that they had been talking about families when Alice stood up and announced that she was going to be a big sister. That the baby would cry, but that she would rock her and feed her milk.

And, oh, man. That made me cry.

I feel a little guilty every so often, knowing the earthquake this will be in her life. These have been sweet times, just the three of us. But I try to remember that the best thing my parents ever gave me were siblings, and I think Alice is going to be so good at this.

2 thoughts on “sister

  1. Great news! I believe Alice has been patiently preparing for her sibling by hosting tea parties and caring for her dolls and stuffed animals. The first of many great, great gifts my parents gave me was my brother, Sam, also known to Alice as “Papa”. Alice willl love her baby from the moment she sees her but may be a little surprised to find out she’s not a baby alligator :)
    Psalm 139:13-16 (NIV)
    13 For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
    14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.
    15 My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
    16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.
    Congrats to the Siders family on their ‘soon to arrive’ new family member.

Leave a Reply

